MER-MAN (Super7 2016)

MOTUR-Mer fullMASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE

Retro “re-creations” of 80s toys that never existed became popular a year or two ago courtesy of a company called Funko. They most famously produce those Pop! vinyl figures you see everywhere but they also make a line of 3/4″ figures with 5-points of articulation called ReAction Figures. I’m a big fan of both lines. My Pop! collection is now more than 30 deep and I’ve picked up ReAction versions of the Rocketeer, the Invisible Man, the Boondock Saints, the Crow, Scarface, JAWS, and more. They’re great little toys that harken back to a simpler time. Unfortunately, the line seems to have come to an end as I haven’t heard any news of upcoming releases for months.

However, that didn’t stop Super7, a San Francisco based company from getting in on the action. They started out publishing a magazine about toys then later morphed into a toy and apparel company.  I only became aware of them this past year when images of their vintage “Star Wars” style Masters of the Universe figures began appearing online. The set consisted of 4 figures: He-Man, Skeletor, Beast Man, and Mer-Man. They looked exactly like Funko’s ReAction figures with 5 points of articulation, simple sculpts, and eye-catching character-specific packaging.MOTUR-Mer carded

 

 

I’m a big Masters of the Universe fan as evidenced by my near complete collection of Mattel’s MOTU Classics figures, my handful of vintage figures, my near complete 200X line, and my complete run of mini-figures. So naturally I was tempted to order all of the Super7 figures when they went up for pre-order at BigBadToyStore. The price wasn’t unreasonable at $15 a pop but common sense stepped in and stopped me before I placed them all in my cart. I  assumed this was an indie project produced in very limited numbers so the possibility of a wave 2 was low. But I had to ask myself, “what if there is a wave 2?” Would I buy them all too? then wave 3 and wave 4 etc.  In my opinion the CLASSICS versions of these characters are the definitive versions.  They have great sculpting and articulation, they’re bright, big and fun, and they have great accessories. So if my Classics collection provides me with the perfect set of MOTU toys why would I set myself on a path to buy them all again in an inferior (albeit fun and nostalgic) format? I decided I only needed one of the figures to satisfy my itch and that of course had to be Mer-Man since he’s always been my favorite.

MOTUR-Mer back

Though for some reason BBTS was only selling He-Man and Skeletor as individuals. Mer-Man was only available as part of the set of four for $60.  I stood my ground and did not place an order for any of them. That was a few months ago. Then last week my local comic shop, Strange Adventures, got them in. They were priced at $30 a piece which was painful but honestly, given the US to Canadian conversion rate and the shipping, that’s close to what I would’ve paid to order one from BBTS anyway had they been selling him individually.

This is a very cool little figure. The intentionally simple sculpting is well done and very reminiscent of the original 1982 Mer-Man figure. The colors are a very good match too. He even has a little replica of his vintage sword which always looked like a cob of corn to me.  The true highlight of this figure is the original illustration by Jason Edmiston on the blister card so I’m happy to see that he’s been credited on the back.  I usually open my toys but this guy is getting tacked onto the wall as is so that I can continue to enjoy the complete packaging. This is not a must-have for your MOTU collection but it is pretty neat. If you have a favorite character and a couple bucks to spare maybe you should pick one up. Wave 2 with Trap Jaw, Tri-Klops, Sorceress, and Man-At-Arms was just announced. 7 out of 10MOTUR-Mer face

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on August 8, 2016, in Master's of the Universe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

