STATIC-LINE v.2 (2016)

Joe-Staticline v2 fullG. I. JOE

Next up for review is the Joe team’s demolitions expert and avionic mechanic, Static Line. The original Static-Line figure was released in 1990 along with the rest of Sky Patrol. It featured a brand new African-American head sculpt (complete with flattop) on a repainted Backstop body. It was a nice looking figure but I never owned one.

Since I never played with Static-Line as a kid, and he never appeared in the Sunbow animated series, and I’m pretty sure he never appeared in the Marvel comic, I have no nostalgic ties to the character. However, when the G.I. Joe Collector’s Club announced they’d be doing a Sky Patrol set for the 2016 Convention I was pretty excited by the prospect of a modern-era Static-Line.  I was sure they’d throw together his body using existing pieces but a new head  seemed like a must.  I was sure that there weren’t any existing heads that could replicate SL’s epic 90s ‘do. Sure enough, we got a new head sculpt but it wasn’t what I was expecting.Joe-Staticline v2 face

 

 

Rather than give us a new head with a flattop and a removable helmet the Club sculpted a new head with a helmet permanently attached; just as they did with Airborne.  I would’ve preferred a removable helmet but that might have resulted in some oversized headgear so I’m satisfied with the Club’s approach. It’a very unique head sculpt which I appreciate. It has a long protruding jaw line and an open visor which isn’t exactly faithful to the original toy but very true to the original card art. I’m confident the Club won’t be reusing this head anytime soon because it’s so specific to the character.

Joe-Staticline v2 back

Interesting sidenote, the free figure for Con attendees this year was a new character named Air Raid who happened to be a black guy with a flattop. Rather than sculpt a new head for him though the Club just repainted a Resolute Duke head with dark skin and black hair. It totally changes the look of the face and would have actually made an excellent helmet-less Static-Line head.

The rest of the Static-Line figure is made up of a Beachhead torso, Cobra Trooper arms, and Duke legs. He’s a little lanky but for the most part it works. It’s a very close approximation of the original 1990 look.  The sleek blue, silver, and white paint scheme really ties it together and sells it as Static-Line.

1990 Static-Line

1990 Static-Line

For accessories he comes with a metallic silver display base, a shoulder holster, a knife, a satchel, a submachine gun, and a glider backpack. The glider pack has manually retractable wings and looks pretty sharp. I believe it was first released with Rise of Cobra General Hawk.

This is a solid figure with good paint, good accessories, a newly tooled head, and is true to the original. What more could you want.  It’s definitely one of my favorites from this year’s set. 8 out of 10.

1990 Static line art

1990 Static line art

 

Interesting sidenote #2.  I had no idea what “Static Line” meant so I looked it up: In parachuting, a static line is a cord attached at one end to the aircraft and at the other end to the top of the jumper’s ‘D-Bag’ (Deployment Bag, into which the canopy is packed).  Now you know…Joe-Staticline v2 wings

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on August 10, 2016, in G.I. Joe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m confident the Club won’t be reusing this head anytime soon because it’s so specific to the character.

    I’m confident we’ll be seeing it reused for a Backstop figure eventually, given the helmet far more resembles his than it does Static Line’s.

Leave a Reply

