ELECTRO (2016)

MarvL-Electro fullMARVEL LEGENDS

The last few months have brought a steady stream of new Marvel Legends releases.  I just purchased Rogue and Havok from the latest X-Men wave when a week later another Spider-Man wave hits.  I still haven’t come across the recent Captain America wave and the Dr. Strange series is right around the corner. Hasbro is relentless with these things and they’ve clearly got their hooks in me because, yet again, I purchased an entire wave in a single outing.  Doing so saves me from hunting down individual figures for months but man does it ever hurt the wallet.

The newest Spider-Man wave consists of Ultimate Spider-Man, Miles Morales: Spider-Man, Silk, Hobgoblin, another Spider-Girl, and Electro. Plus they all came with parts to build a Space Knight Venom. It’s a solid wave but I find myself asking “Didn’t I just buy a Spider-Man/Spider-Girl/Hobgoblin/Venom?”  Yes.  Yes I did. Multiple times.MarvL-Electro face

Since the other characters in the wave are all a little over-exposed I’ve decided to take a look at Electro first.

Electro is a classic Spidey villain who first appeared in Amazing Spider-Man issue issue 9 published in 1964 and he’s been a thorn in Web-Head’s side ever since. Originally he wore a green costume with yellow lighting bolts running up and down the arms and legs and a crazy mask I can only describe as a lightening star. It was the kind of over-the-top design that could only work in comic books. Electro has made some alterations and ditched the mask in recent years but elements of the original costume remain. Electro first shed the mask in a 2009 storyline called “The Gauntlet” in which many of Spidey’s classic villains received power upgrades to make them feel like real threats again since many had been relegated to punchlines for years. Electro’s increased electrical powers came with a newly scarred face; a burn mark with the same star pattern as his mask.

MarvL-Electro back

This action figure is the first time that Electro’s modern look has been translated into action figure form. I was dead set against the change at first but the gritty artwork of Paul Azaceta eased me into it. Over the years the bald look has grown on me.  As much as I like the original, I must admit that it was hard to take Electro seriously in that mask. The shaved head and scarred face provides a more street-level, less theatrical look that makes Electro more menacing.

I already have Classic Electro figures from the  3 3/4″ Marvel Universe and 5″ 90s Spider-Man toy lines so it’s refreshing to get a new take on the character for this 6″ figure. The head sculpt is very well done and perfectly adapts the comic book look without directly homaging any artist in particular. He’s got a furrowed brow and gritted teeth. He looks pissed off and scary. He has solid metallic blue eyes that reflect light to give the look of beady white pupils. It’s a very effective paint job that make his eyes seem to follow you around the room.MarvL-Electro hand

The body is the same one we’ve seen a few times already for characters like Spider-Man.  It’s lean and muscular. At first I thought it was a little too lean for Electro but he’s never really been a bulky bad guy so I concluded that it actually works quite well. It’s got loads of articulation that allows for many poses. The paint job is relatively simple but looks crisp and vibrant. The black pants is not something we’re used to seeing but as with the head I’m glad to get something a little more contemporary.

MarvL-Electro mask

My only gripe about this figure is the hands.  He has powered-up blue electric hands which would be fine if he had swappable regular gloved hands but he doesn’t.   Many poses look odd with the blue tendril fingers.  Some Legends figures get up to three pairs of alternate hands so I can’t imagine why Hasbro didn’t provide one extra pair with Electro.  Complaints aside the translucent hands are kind of neat looking.

Thankfully he does come with one accessory (besides the build-a-figure Venom piece), an alternative head sporting the star mask.  If you want a classic Electro this head gets you pretty close.  It’s features a beautiful sculpt and I think it’s sized just right. The smirk looks more mischievous then it does angry and I like that. Ditko-era Electro shouldn’t be too scary.  It’s awesome to have the masked option but I’m going to display mine with the modern look. The hands knock this figure down a peg but its still a solid 7 out of 10.MarvL-Electro zap

 

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on August 12, 2016, in Marvel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

