SNEAK PEEK v.3 (2016)

Joe-Sneak v3 fullG. I. JOE FIGURE SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 4.0

I’m really trying to finish posting all my reviews of the figures from this year’s Joe Con set but I’m going to take a brief interlude because there’s a non-convention Joe that I really want to talk about. The final package from the G.I. Joe Collector’s Club FSS 4.0 arrived the other day and it contained the final two known figures, Tiger Force Sneak Peek and Outback, plus the mystery 13th figure.  I’m pretty happy with the mystery figure but that’s not who I’m going to review today. Tonight I want to talk about Sneak Peek.

Joe-Sneak v3 back

The original Sneak Peek figure was released in 1987. He was the Joe team’s advanced recon and radio telecommunications expert. His file card described him as a legend with patience, endurance and guts, which made him sound pretty  cool.  However, the actual figure was not all that cool and the original artwork depicting him on the blister card was even less cool. Most Joes were drawn with intense scowls but Sneak Peek had a confused man-baby face. The figure itself didn’t look overly young but his face was rounder than most. His uniform was rather bland in color and kind of frumpy with all the padding. He had knee-high laceless boots which didn’t exactly look combat ready and then of course there were his accessories. He had a pretty decent looking rifle but beyond that he had a walking talkie, binoculars, and a giant periscope. They were all relevant to his military specialties but not as badass as a knife or a pistol might have been. Having said all that, you might expect that I wasn’t a fan of ’87 Sneak Peek but that’s not the case.  For some reason I loved this guy.Joe-Sneak v3 carded

I paired Sneak Peek up with fellow Class of ’87 recruit, Crazylegs. The two of them were best buddies and they worked very well together.  I’m not sure why I decided they belonged together, perhaps because they both had red and grey uniforms, but they made for one of the most effective Joe duos on my roster.  I didn’t make them ridiculously strong like I did Shockwave or complete hams like I did BattleForce 2000, they were just good soldiers. When the modern-era of Joe figures kicked off in 2007 both of them were high on my want list, in part because they were completely absent from the new-sculpt years of the early 2000s. In fact neither had been redone since their 1988 Night Force repaints (which were Toys R Us exclusives back in the day that I never even knew about). It took a while but Hasbro eventually produced a modern-era Crazylegs in 2011 as part of their “Pursuit of Cobra” series.  After that I waited anxiously for a modern-era Sneak Peek that never came…until now!Joe-Sneak v3 crazy

Hasbro never delivered but thankfully the G.I. Joe Collector’s Club put together their own version to close out their 4th annual FSS. Only they didn’t use the ’87 original for inspiration as I had been hoping for nor did they recreate the 1988 Night Force version 2. So what did that leave them with? The 1991 Tiger Force version released exclusively in the United Kingdom. It wasn’t exactly a surprise given that the Club likes to recreate foreign exclusives plus they seem to love Tiger Force; which was the theme of their 2015 Con Set.

Euro Sneak Peak

Euro Sneak Peak

I would’ve much preferred a red and grey Sneak Peak but the Club has already announced that an 87-inspired version will appear in next year’s FSS 5.0.  While it’s nice to know that I won’t have to wait long to get a classically attired Sneak Peek the downside of that announcement is that it almost immediately negates this figure. At least I thought it would. When the v.1 remake arrives next year it will no doubt become my default Sneak Peek but I like this figure more than I thought I would; far too much to simply box it up or relegate it to the back of the shelf.

I’ve seen lukewarm reviews of this figure on a few other sites so perhaps I’m letting my love of the character cloud my judgement but I really like it. I didn’t think I’d be pleased with a Sneak Peek made up completely of reused parts but  gosh darn it this really works for me. He’s got the same Cobra Shock Trooper legs as the Airborne I reviewed the other day, a Pursuit of Cobra Snake Eyes v.54 torso, Shock Trooper arms, and a 2008 Airborne head. The padded look of the original uniform is recreated using a Scrap-Iron vest and the collar of Beachhead v.17.  It doesn’t make for a perfect recreation of the classic uniform but it’s close enough and I actually think it’s an improvement. The combat boots look much better than the knee-high slip-ons.

Joe-Sneak v3 scope

I’d always prefer a unique head sculpt to a recycled one but the Airborne head and helmet combo work very well to recreate the look of the original.  As a result, Sneak Peek finally looks fit; no more big round head. He’s got a removable helmet for the first time and he looks good under there. This head’s been used a few times before but it usually looks different (it was green when it was Hit & Run and moustached when it was Footloose) so I don’t immediately associate it with any one character.

The paint job on this figure is nice and relatively faithful to the 1991 deco. I must say that I’m quite pleased to see, after thirty years of buying Tiger Force figures, somebody finally painted one in tiger colors.  How is it the Hasbro designers never painted a single Tiger Force figure orange?

For accessories S.P. has a dispaly base, a rifle, a radio, binoculars, and a newly sculpted periscope.  I never understood the periscope. Do soldiers actually use these things in the battlefield? If they did at one point I’m sure they don’t anymore.  Even in 1987 this thing look antiquated.  However, he wouldn’t be Sneak Peek without it so I’m glad it’s here plus it’s much better than the vintage one was. This one has handles so he can carry it and it even has some silver paint deco. Some might say I’m easy to please but I think this is a home run from the Club. 9 out of 10.Joe-Sneak v3 headsJoe-Sneak v3 compare

 

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on August 15, 2016, in G.I. Joe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

