MANCAVE RELOADED

I realize I’ve been pretty slack on the blogging lately so I apologize to my regular readers for the lack of content. As per usual, the dry spell isn’t due to a lack of cool new action figures, I’ve been adding to my collection weekly, it’s more a result of me being busy and lazy. The busiest thing I’ve been up to since you last heard from me was buying a house.  Big time grown up stuff.

Vanessa and I bought our first home in the neighbourhood I grew up in. I was a little reluctant to move back to the home town but it’s a pretty sweet house and it’s kind of nice to be around the corner from my folks. We’ve been here for about three weeks and I’m finally unpacked enough that I feel comfortable sharing some pics with you.

The home is a split entry and Vanessa has granted me free reign to decorate the downstairs however I please. The lower floor consists of a large den/wreck room, a bathroom, garage, storage areas, and one bedroom. I would’ve loved to fill the den with toys but our cat, Buster, can’t be trusted not to chew on things sitting on open shelves. Therefore, I had to cram almost all of my figures into the one bedroom.  It’s a little more space than I had in my last apartment but still not nearly enough to display all of my collectibles. I managed to unbox quite a bit of stuff but I still have multiple tote bins that will have to stay in storage.

In the den I have a couple of bookcases full of graphic novels and 6 plexi-glass cases of figures mounted to the wall (safe from Buster).  I plan to hang most of my nerdy art in that room as well to make it feel like my own but I haven’t done that yet. I’m still very nervous about putting holes in the walls of my new house. In my apartment I used the plexi cases to display my 3 3/4″ Marvel Universe figures. This time around I’ve opted for more variety: only one Marvel case, one Star Wars, one Gundam, one 200-era G.I. Joe, and a couple miscellaneous. 

The true man-cave/bedroom features shelving units for both modern-era Joes and Cobras. Two Transformer bookcases,  two shelves for POPs, two 3-shelf units for Masters of the Universe, one for Marvel Legends, and one for DC. I’ve got my Ninja Turtles and 6″ Star Wars Black Series figures on a couple little cases and I installed a couple of floating shelves for my Vitruvian Hacks.

Lastly I mounted three small plexi-cases of Battle Beasts then pinned a bunch of carded figures to the wall to create a boarder just like I did in the apartment. It’s coming together quite well and I’m pretty happy with the results. Tweaks will be coming over the next few months but for now the man-cave is born anew. Enjoy.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on April 9, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. love it;).i sale some old toy’s but i kipe some too.most of my collection is still boxed up

Leave a Reply

