COSMOS (2014)

Tf-Cosmos mini fullTRANSFORMERS : GENERATIONS

The other day I bought two new figures from Hasbro’s “Transformers: Generations” line.  Yesterday I posted my review of Swerve.  Today I’m gonna review the other figure, Cosmos.

I never had the original Swerve toy in the 80s and had no prior attachment to the character.  He wasn’t featured in either the comics or cartoons when I was a kid.  I only became a fan of Swerve in the past couple of years since he’s been given a starring role in IDW’s Transformers comic.

With Cosmos it was the opposite.  I did have the original 1985 Cosmos figure and he was featured in the cartoons and comics regularly.   I know I say this a lot about numerous characters but Cosmos was truly one of my favorite Transformers.  The toy was quite small but the small Transformers were some of my favorites, in part, because they could be transformed so quickly.  I hated complicated transformations.  Cosmos transformed into a flying saucer-like UFO.  It was a very unique design back then because all of the other Transformers turned into true-to-life vehicles.  I never cared much for cars and trucks but I found Cosmos’ 1950s sci-fi movie vibe very appealing.

1985 Cosmos

1985 Cosmos

The original figure’s biggest issue was how rigid it was.  Like fellow mini-bots, Warpath and Seaspray, Cosmos’ legs were stuck together and he had no knee or elbow joints.  He essentially had 2 or 3 points of articulation.  Cosmos also had a bit of a ghetto booty going on due to the rounded design of his alt-mode.

When Hasbro launched their Generations line (then called Classics) in the mid-2000s they set the bar high.  The first figure I got was Bumblebee and I couldn’t believe how much better that figure was when compared to the original mini-bot Bumblebee figure.  The Generations version was bigger, had plenty of articulation, multiple paint apps, and captured the spirit of the character I’d come to know from the cartoon.  I couldn’t wait to get updated versions of my favorite mini-bots like Gears, Windcharger, and Cosmos. Tf-Cosmos mini ufo

To this day, Hasbro still hasn’t given me a Gears.  Luckily third party manufacturing iGear stepped up to the plate on that one.  I did finally get a Windcharger in 2010, and while he was vastly superior to the 1980s original in regards to articulation and cartoon accuracy, I was disappointed that he wasn’t made in the same scale as Bumblebee.  Windcharger remained a mini-bot even though his mini brothers-in-arms like Bumblebee, Cliff Jumper, and Warparth got promoted to the “big” leagues.

Hasbro also released an updated Cosmos in 2009.  I couldn’t find him anywhere locally so I ordered him online for about $30.  I was expecting an update that matched the size and quality of Bumblebee.  What I got was a stiff, crappy, waste of money.  Like Windcharger, Cosmos was still just as small as the 1985 toy, but unlike Windcharger he wasn’t vastly superior to the original. My 2009 Cosmos was stiff and crappy with big dumb arms.  The fact that I overpaid for him only magnified my disdain.TF-Cosmos mini back

iGear released  their own unlicensed version of Cosmos, named UFO , a couple of years ago.  I thought that buying UFO would be my opportunity to finally own a decent Cosmos figure.  UFO was bigger than the Hasbro release, but still not as big as Bumblebee, and it had multiple design issues that I wasn’t happy with including really teeny feet.  Worst of all he was really expensive.  If neither Hasbro nor a third party manufacturer could get it right I assumed I was fated to never get a good Cosmos figure.

When I first glanced at online thumbnails of this new Cosmos figure a few weeks ago, I assumed Hasbro was just re-releasing the crappy 2009 version so I didn’t look at it very closely.  It wasn’t until I saw the figure on a peg in Walmart last weekend that I realized it was a whole new mold.  I decided to buy him but my expectations were low.TF-Cosmos mini pose

Once I got my new Transformers home and opened them up, I was as surprised by the quality of Cosmos as I was by the quality of Swerve; these are great figures.  This Cosmos retains all of his classic elements but he’s been modernized to resemble his appearance in the IDW comics.  His head no longer looks like a pushpin, it’s actually got some cool detail and design elements.  Instead of looking fat, this Cosmos actually looks kind of buff.  He’s got plenty of articulation and despite his small size I just think it’s a fantastic figure.  After 30 years of lackluster Cosmos figures its awesome to finally get a good one that I’m proud to display. TF-Cosmos mini swerve

And if you need any more incentive to go pick this guy up, he also comes with an even smaller Transformer, Payload, who can transform into a space shuttle or be used as Cosmos’ gun.  It’s great to get this much bang for your buck these days when so many other toy lines are cutting corners while prices continue to rise. Highly recommended.  10 out of 10.

iGear's UFO, 2014 Cosmos, and 2009 Cosmos

iGear’s UFO, 2014 Cosmos, and 2009 Cosmos

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on March 21, 2014, in Transformers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I forgot all about having Cosmos back in the day. I loved that little figure and used him a lot. I had him be one of those “Small but mighty and strong and kicks ass” characters.

Leave a Reply

